Issue brief |

How the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement Threatens Access to Medicines

The eighth round of closed-door negotiations for the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement will be held in Chicago from September 6-15, 2011. Negotiations during this round are expected to be substantial, as the current nine negotiating countries, Australia, Brunei, Chile, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Vietnam, plan to present the outlines of an agreement at the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Leaders’ meeting in Honolulu, November 8-13 2011.

Read MSF's briefing document to understand how the TPP is a threat to access to medicines